AAP sweeps Delhi Assembly elections

In a near sweep, the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) decimated the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress by recording a landslide victory, securing 67 of the 70 seats in the Delhi Assembly elections—a win percentage of more than 90, a feat achieved only twice before in Sikkim and Bihar. BJP got 3 seats and Congress could not win even a single seat.

Arvind Kejriwal, the former revenue service officer who led his party to a sensational victory, won with a huge margin in the New Delhi constituency, where the BJP fielded Nupur Sharma, a novice, who came second and veteran Congress leader Kiran Walia was way behind at the third spot.

The BJP’s humiliation was complete with its chief ministerial face Kiran Bedi losing in the traditional stronghold of Krishna Nagar, which was long held by party veteran Harsh Vardhan.

The AAP’s hurricane march could be gauged from the fact that it polled 54% of the popular votes, while the BJP got 32.4% and the Congress 9.4%.

BJP’s defeat was all the more bitter because it had won all the seven Lok Sabha seats in the 2014 general elections. The party’s gamble of making Kiran Bedi its chief ministerial candidate back fired. The only saving grace for the BJP was victory of its former State unit president Vijender Gupta who won from Rohini.

Page Links: 1 * 2 * 3 * 4 * 5 * 6 * 7 * 8 * 9 * 10 * 11


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s