Motor vehicles agreement with three SAARC nations

On 16 June 2015, India, Bangladesh, Bhutan and Nepal signed a Motor Vehicles Agreement (MVA), in Thimpu, Bhutan, to facilitate seamless travel for passenger and cargo vehicles among four SAARC countries.

When operationalised, the pact would reduce transportation cost and also encourage development of multi-modal transportation and transit facilities enabling increased connectivity and promotion of greater trade among the four countries which share geographical boundaries.

A six-month timeframe has been set to implement the BBIN-MVA with incremental steps towards bilateral/tri-lateral and quadrilateral agreements, required protocols, and installation of pre-requisites to implement the approved agreements.

Page Links: 1 * 2 * 3 * 4 * 5 * 6 * 7 * 8


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s