June 2015

England-New Zealand Test Series
New Zealand bowled with fire and fielded superbly to crush England by 199 runs in the second Test and level a gripping two-match series at 1-1. England had won the first Test at Lord’s by 124 runs.

The hosts, chasing a record 455 to win, were bowled out for 255 on the final day. This was New Zealand’s fifth Test victory in England.

Sri Lanka-Pakistan Test Series
Opener Dimuth Karunaratne smashed a half-century to help Sri Lanka complete a comprehensive seven-wicket win over Pakistan in the second Test to level the three-match series 1-1. Pakistan had won the first Test in Galle by 10 wickets, with the help of spectacular leg-spin bowling by Yaser Shah who took seven wickets in the second innings.

Bangladesh-India ODI Series
Bangladesh beat India by 79 runs to take 1-0 lead in three-match series.

India lost the second ODI by six wickets. India was bowled out for 200 in 45 overs. The hosts chased down 200 in 38 overs, losing 4 wickets. Mustafizur Rahman, the 19-year-old left-arm paceman destroyed India with 6/43 in 10 overs on way to creating history.

Suresh Raina bagged three wickets, while Dhawal Kulkarni and Ravichandran Ashwin picked two each as India (317/6) bowled out Bangladesh for 240 to win the thitd and final ODI by 77 runs and salvage pride by avoiding a series whitewash.

Bangladesh won the series 2-1. This was India’s first series loss against Bangladesh.

West Indies-Australia Test Series
Australia maintained their dominance over the West Indies with a crushing 277-run victory in the second Test in Jamaica, to claim a 2-0 series win. They have not lost to the West Indies in 14 Tests dating back to 2003, winning 11 and drawing three. Australia had won the first Test in Dominica by nine wickets.

World Cup
China’s B team has beaten Scotland in the final to win the World Cup at the eastern Chinese city of Wuxi. India finished third.

French Open, 2015
Serena Williams battled a nasty dose of the flu to overcome Lucie Safarova of Czech Republic to win the women’s singles title, her 20th Grand Slam title.

Swiss Stan Wawrinka defied the odds to win the men’s singles title with a courageous victory over world No. 1 Novak Djokovic. He handed Serbian Djokovic his third defeat in three Roland Garros finals to add a second Major to his 2014 Australian Open title.

Lucie Safarova and Bethanie Mattek-Sands won the women’s doubles title by beating Yaroslava Shvedova and Casey Dellacqua in the final.

Ivan Dodig and Marcelo Melo upset the Bryan brothers to take the men’s doubles title.

Bathanie Mattek-Sands partnered with Mike Bryan to win the mixed doubles title.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s