May 2015

World Welterweight Championship
Frontrunner Floyd Mayweather of USA defeated sentimental favorite Manny Pacquiao from The Philippines by unanimous decision in the so-called “Fight of the Century” to win the title.

Indian Premier League (IPL) Title
Mumbai Indians (MI) won their second IPL title after beating Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 41 runs in Kolkata.

Lendl Simmons struck 68 off 45 balls in the final and captain Rohit Sharma added 50 off 26 as Mumbai posted 202-5. Dwayne Smith’s 57 was in vain for MS Dhoni’s CSK, who could only make 161-8 in their 20 overs in Kolkata.

Mitchell McClenaghan was the most successful of the MI bowlers, returning figures of 3 for 25, while Harbhajan Singh was the pick of the bowlers, picking up the wickets of the two dangermen Smith and Raina. Lasith Malinga (2-25) and R Vinay Kumar (1-39) were the other wicket-takers.

Man of the Match: Rohit Sharma for his match winning knock 50 of 26 balls
Player of the Tournament: Andre Russell
Orange Cap awarded to: David Warner
Purple Cap awarded to: Dwayne Bravo
Emerging Player of the Season: Shreyas Iyer
Most Valuable Player: Andre Russell

England-New Zealand Test Series
Ben Stokes inspired England to a stunning 124-run victory as New Zealand slumped to 220 all out in the final session of an absorbing first Test at Lord’s. The Durham all-rounder, who struck the fastest century ever scored at Lord’s, grabbed the prized scalps of Kane Williamson and Brendon McCullum in successive balls during a fiery afternoon spell.

Ceat Awards 2015
International Lifetime Achievement Award – Kapil Dev
International Cricketer of the Year – Kumar Sangakkara
Indian Cricketer of the Year –Ajinkya Rahane
International Batsman of the Year – Hashim Amla
International Bowler of the Year – Rangana Herath
T20 Player of the Year – Dwayne Bravo
Popular Choice Award – Kieron Pollard
Special Performance of the Year Award – Rohit Sharma
Domestic Cricketer of the Year – R. Vinay Kumar
Young Player of the Year – Deepak Hooda

I-League trophy
Nigerian footballer Bello Rasaq provided a dramatic finish to a pulsating season when his late equaliser helped Mohun Bagan hold Bengaluru FC to a 1-1 draw and bring the Hero I-League trophy after a long wait of 13 years. It was the fourth national title for Bagan after having won the last in 2002 when the tournament was called the National Football League. The tournament was christened I-League from 2007 onwards.

Italian Open 2015
Top-ranked Novak Djokovic bolstered his clay-court credentials with a convincing 6-4, 6-3 win over Roger Federer to capture his fourth Italian Open men’s singles title.

Maria Sharapova rallied to beat 10th-seeded Carla Suarez Navarro 4-6, 7-5, 6-1 and win the women’s singles title, for the third time.

Pablo Cuevas and David Marrero won the men’s doubles title. The women’s doubles title was won by Tímea Babos and Kristina Mladenovic, who defeated Martina Hingis and Sania Mirza team in the finals.

Asian Championship
The 2015 Asian Wrestling Championships was held at the Aspire Dome Volleyball Hall in Doha, Qatar. The event took place from 6 May to 10 May 2015.

Iran topped the medals’ tally with 7 gold, 3 silver and 3 bronze medals. Iran was followed by Japan on second position and China on third. India cam 10th with one silver and four bronze medals.

For India, Geeta Phogat bagged a bronze in the Women’s freestyle 58kg category. Geeta defeated Thi Loan Nguyen of Vietnam by fall verdict in the bronze medal play-off.

Vinesh settled for silver in Women’s Freestyle 48kg division after losing her final bout to Japan’s Yuki Irie, while Narsingh Pancham Yadav bagged a bronze in Men’s 74kg category.

Hitender Beniwal lost his bronze-medal play-off bout to return empty-handed in the men’s 125kg division. Other Indians in the fray — Rahul Balasaheb Aware (57kg), Rajneesh Dalal (65kg) and Somveer (86kg) —crashed out of the tournament early in their respective weight categories.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s